Government Documents

1996 - present. Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.

1996 - present. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.

The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders. 1936 - present.

The daily journal of the United States Government.

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives

by year, 1994 - 2017.

The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.

1995 - last year.

Content was prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) at the Library of Congress. This edition is a hypertext interpretation of the CRS text. It links to Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as enhancing navigation through linked footnotes and tables of contents.

From the U. of California, Santa Barbara, est. 1999. Online resource for papers of the Presidents, State of the Union data, and election data.

Printed volumes from Hoover - present (excluding FDR).

George H.W. Bush - past president

Daily and weekly compilation of official publications released by the White House Press Secretary.

Herbert Hoover - present. Arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature. The tables are compiled and maintained by the Office of the Federal Register editors. The Disposition Tables include the following information: Executive order number; Date of signing by the President Federal Register volume, page number, and issue date Title Amendments and Current status. (Also see Federal Register for more current orders).

Listed in Alphabetical order by first name (ie. J's for James Polk), these papers are of from the presidents' former lives (as Military officers, governors, etc) and not as President of the U.S.

National Archives / links to all established presidential archives.

Official website for the President

United States Legislative Information. The official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site with a system that includes platform mobility, comprehensive information retrieval and user-friendly presentation.

Official website for the Senate

Official website for the House of Representatives

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. This site contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities

1989 - present. The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. This site opens with the most recent Daily Digest.

A few days after a law has been enacted, it is officially published first as a "slip law." Slip laws are unbound and printed on one or a few pages of paper. At the end of a Congressional session, slip laws are compiled into the Statutes at Large ("session laws", see link below). , Note, today, most of the public laws, but not private laws, are drafted as amendments to the United States Code.

1951 - couple years ago. Statutes at Large is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Under the provisions of 1 U.S.C. 112, the printed edition of the Statutes at Large is legal evidence of the laws, concurrent resolutions, proclamations by the President, and proposed and ratified amendments to the Constitution

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives

1997 - present. Short bios, committee memberships, terms of service, administrations, and more.

1974 - present. Search engine for past and present biographies, research collections, and archives.

Congress established its Law Library in 1832, recognizing its need for ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library has grown over the years to become the world’s largest law library, with a collection of over 2.65 million volumes spanning the ages and covering virtually every jurisdiction in the world.

Video coverage of Congress since 1986; archived programs available online

CRS works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.