Government Documents

FBI produces four annual publications: Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program. The crime data are submitted either through a state UCR Program or directly to the FBI’s UCR Program.

Links to the Freedom of Information / Privacy Act. It includes a link to the FBI Vault with downloadable PDFs of famous files (like Muhammad Ali's file).

These reports cover all areas of crime, incarceration, victimization, federal and state policy, and the judicial system.

The National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) collects information from victims on nonfatal violent and property crimes, reported and not reported to the police, against persons age 12 or older from a nationally representative sample of U.S. households. It produces national rates and levels of personal and property victimization.

Official website for Supreme Court.

Great for Supreme Court Decisions and related material as well as Federal Court of Appeals. Great website

Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.1988 - 2012.

Oct. 1991 - present. Bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the fourth and final generation of the Court's opinions. Digitized copies of the volumes are available on the website.

Government site about Federal courts: Supreme Court of the US; US Court of Appeals; US District Courts; US Bankruptsy Courts; US Courts of Special Jurisdiction; and, Structure & Function of the Federal Judiciary.

Provides public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period.

Education and research agency for the federal courts.

An independent agency in the judicial branch, its principal purposes are: to establish sentencing policies and practices for the federal courts; to advise and assist Congress and the executive branch in the development of effective and efficient crime policy; and to collect, analyze, research, and distribute a broad array of information on federal crime and sentencing issues.

Provides access to recent Supreme Court Rulings, and select historic rulings.

U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia Database. Provides audio oral arguments for selected cases from 1956 to the present. Provides biographical information on justices, past and present.