Skip to main content

Forrer Learning Commons During COVID-19: Home

More Information about COVID-19

Bridgewater College Coronavirus Webpage
This page provides all relevant information regarding the College's reaction to the coronavirus. For more information on BC Eagles returning to campus, please click here.

Town of Bridgewater COVID-19 Alert
The town of Bridgewater created a two-page document that includes information about coronavirus and the precautions that they are taking to prevent the spread. It also provides a good snapshot of what precautions it asks of its residents.

Virginia Department of Health's COVID-19 Information Page
Here, you will be able to access information about coronavirus in the state of Virginia. If you're looking for quick information, visit the COVID-19 dashboard. If you're worried that you may have some symptoms, visit the COVIDCHECK page, you are able to get information about symptoms and testing.

CDC's Coronavirus Page
This site provides all relevant information about the coronavirus pandemic in the United States. You can find information on how COVID-19 spreadshow to protect yourself and others from COVID, traveling during the pandemic, and so much more.

Johns Hopkins' Coronavirus Resource Center
As one of the leading research facilities on coronavirus in the United States, Johns Hopkins has put together a map that demonstrates by county: the number of confirmed coronavirus cases, coronavirus deaths, and fatality rate. Data is pulled once per day to ensure accurate information by county.

Coronavirus.gov
A pared-down, easy-to-understand site, coronavirus.gov is developed by the CDC, the White House, and FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) to help individuals get the basics of coronavirus in the United States. If you're looking for quick information, check here.

WHO Coronavirus Page
The World Health Organization (WHO) provides information about the coronavirus pandemic worldwide. It provides advice for the public, country-level guidance, information on global research and development regarding COVID-19, and much more.

United Nations COVID-19 Response
The UN here provides a wealth of information about their policies and initiatives in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic. It also includes a guide to working together worldwide in order to recover more effectively.

Our World in Data
Developed by Oxford University, Our World in Data aims to aggregate and analyze large worldwide datasets to get a better understanding of policy differences across different regions of the world. Their coronavirus page includes information on how different countries have reacted to the pandemic through their policies, including stay-at-home orders, public information campaigns, school closures, and more.

Self-Care During COVID-19

The pandemic can be a difficult time for a number of reasons. You might be feeling stressed, anxious, or lonely due to social distancing. If you're experiencing effects of the pandemic on your mental health, make sure to practice self care and reach out to Counseling Services. They are available Monday through Friday 8a to 4:30p. Appointments can be made in person, via email at counseling@bridgewater.edu, or by phone at (540) 828-5402. 

You may also reach out to BC Care to submit a CARE report, which has a "COVID-19 related difficulty" section. Simply input this under "Nature of this Report" and you will be connected with the individual who can best assist you with your concerns.

If you're just looking for someone to talk to, try Mental Health America of Virginia's Warm Line at 1-866-400-MHAV (6428). They are available Monday through Friday 9a to 9p, and Saturday to Sunday 5p to 9p.

If you or someone you know is experiencing a mental health emergency, call (540) 434-1766 to reach Rockingham County's Emergency Mental Health team. They are available 24/7.

What is COVID-19?

COVID-19 (or coronavirus) is a respiratory illness that is categorized by a wide range of symptoms that can range in severity from mild to severe.  These symptoms include, but are not limited to:

  • Fever or chills
  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
  • Fatigue
  • Muscle or body aches
  • Headache
  • New loss of taste or smell
  • Sore throat
  • Congestion or runny nose
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Diarrhea

Symptoms generally manifest between 2 and 14 days after exposure to the virus. Additionally it is possible for individuals to be exposed to the disease and not exhibit any symptoms, thus being a carrier of the disease. For more information, please visit the Center for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) COVID-19 website.

Bridgewater College COVID-19 Dashboard

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is the Forrer Learning Commons open during the COVID-19 pandemic?
    Yes, the Forrer Learning Commons is currently open to students, staff, and faculty. Below are the facility's hours:

Please Note: you must make sure to bring your ID card with you during the times that the building is swipe access only. This is after 6p on weekdays and during all weekend hours.

 

  • Do I have to wear a mask when in the Forrer Learning Commons?
    Yes, masks are required when in the building, even when alone in a study room, per campus policy. Please be sure to wear your mask the whole time you are here to ensure that you and everyone else is safe. If you would like to eat, please make sure that you do some with a minimum of 10 feet between you an another person. As soon as you are finished eating, you are required to put your mask back on.
     
  • Do I need to socially distance while in the library?
    Yes, please make sure that you maintain 6 feet between you and someone else to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. The furniture is spaced so that all occupants stay 6 feet apart, so please do not move the furniture.
     
  • Where can I print?
    We no longer are working with WEPA, so while we look into other options, you may print at the public access computer to the right of the main Services Desk. When using this computer, please remember to log out of all accounts that you sign into before you leave the computer.
     
  • Can I borrow a book from the library?
    Yes, the stacks are currently open and you can check out any material that is currently available. We ask that you wash your hands or use hand sanitizer before browsing the collection. This is subject to change as lending policies operate in accord with other Virginia private libraries.  We will post information as it becomes available.

    Additionally, the library has instituted a new system for pickups of items on hold as well as Interlibrary Loan materials. We are currently processing holds and placing them on the "Hold Pickups Grab and Go shelf," located to the left of the main Services Desk.  To pick up your hold, simply look at your Due Date receipt and locate the last 6 digits of your ID barcode. Then, stop by the library's shelf and grab the item/items marked with your barcode. No need to stop at the desk—the materials are already checked out to your account.
     
  • Can I borrow a book through Interlibrary Loan?
    Yes, we are ordering articles, chapter scans, and now physical items (books, DVDs) from other institutions. However, not all academic libraries are open. Our Research Support Librarian will do their best to find access to your research materials. Please make your request here. If you are a remote student, we will mail the Interlibrary Loan item to you (with a pre-paid return envelope). When submitting the request, please include your home address, so we can mail the item to you.

    Additionally, the library has instituted a new system for pickups of items on hold as well as Interlibrary Loan materials. We are currently processing holds and placing them on the "Hold Pickups Grab and Go shelf," located to the left of the main Services Desk.  To pick up your hold, simply look at your Due Date receipt and locate the last 6 digits of your ID barcode. Then, stop by the library's shelf and grab the item/items marked with your barcode. No need to stop at the desk—the materials are already checked out to your account.
     
  • What about if I am a remote student? Can I get books or articles from the library?
    Yes! We are happy to mail items to you from our library's collection. Simply email circulation@bridgewater.edu with as much information as you can give us (title, author, publication date, etc.) or simply link directly to the items record in Discovery. Please also include the mailing information, so that we know where to send the materials. Once we receive the request, we will mail the item to you with a return label. Simply return the item by shipping it back to us through UPS. Feel free to ask us any questions you might have about this process. This is available for Interlibrary Loan materials as well. As is always the case, if there's an article or book chapter that you would like to request through Interlibrary Loan, please feel free to do that using this form

    You are also more than welcome to come into the library and use any of the Forrer Learning Commons' services. All services are open and available to you as a remote student.

    More information for remote students can be found on our Remote Students library guide.
     
  • I have a book checked out from the library, but I will not be on campus this semester as I am a remote student. Can I renew the book or mail it back?
    Yes, we would be happy to renew the book for you. Simply email circulation@bridgewater.edu to let us know that you would like to renew them.

    You are also able to mail the materials back to us. Email us at circulation@bridgewater.edu and let us know your mailing address and the number of books you will be returning. We will send you prepaid mailers. Once you receive these, simply insert the book and drop off the package at a UPS store.
     
  • Are there any eBooks or streaming videos that I can use for my course? Can I stream a video over Zoom?
    All of this information is available through our Digital Resources guide for faculty members. Any additional questions can be sent to Taylor at tbaugher@bridgewater.edu.
     

    For quick access:

  • Can I meet with a librarian for research help?
    Yes! There are librarians on staff from 8a to 4:30p, and we would be meet with you onsite or through Zoom. Click here to make an appointment with our librarians! We also are available for drop-in research questions from 8a to 9p Monday through Thursday.
     
  • Can I visit the Special Collections?
    Special Collections is currently open for research visits by appointment for Bridgewater College students, faculty and staff. To schedule a visit, please contact Special Collections at (540) 828-8018 or sgardner@bridgewater.edu.
     
  • Is the library accepting donations?
    No, the library is not accepting donations of materials at this time.
     
  • What measures are being taken by the library to help stop the spread of coronavirus?
    Throughout the building are signs reminding occupants to wear masks and socially distance. Additionally, entrances to all stairwells remind occupants to use the right side of the stairs to minimize contact in the stairwells. We are also currently in the process of evaluating the furniture to ensure safe distances between occupants. Returned materials remain in quarantine for a minimum of six days before being returned to the shelves. When checking out materials, staff will assist the patron in checking out their own items, so as to lessen the touching of materials.
     
  • How can I access the internet when I'm not on campus?
    There is a map developed by Virginia Tech that provides a list of all public Wi-Fi hotspots in the state of Virginia. Visit it here: https://bit.ly/VAhotspots.

Ask Us!

If there are any questions you have about Forrer Learning Commons services, ask here: