Government Documents

This collection provides American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.

The People’s Vote, co-sponsored by the National Archives and Records Administration, National History Day, and U.S. News & World Report, invited Americans of all ages and educational backgrounds to vote for 10 of 100 milestone documents drawn mainly from the holdings of the National Archives.

Indepth look at the Declaration of Independence, The Constitution, and The Bill of Rights.

Presents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics. Created for students K - Grade 12.

Starts with broad timelines; as you click, the selections gets narrower. For example, to get bibliography of U.S. Constitution, click on 1763-1815, then on Constitution of the United States. (see also National Archives at http://www.archives.gov/).

The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817. Arranged in 10 topical classes including Indian Affairs, Military Affairs, Commerce, Public Lands, etc.

American Memory Project and archives. The Library of Congress includes several internal divisions: the Office of the Librarian, Congressional Research Service, U.S. Copyright Office, Law Library of Congress, Library Services, the Office of Strategic Initiatives and the Office of Support Operations

Works in the Public Domain. Partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Archives Library Information Center (ALIC); find a book or article; reference at your desk; research tools and other resources.

National Archives / links to all established presidential archives.

America's attic. Search collections, exhibits and SIRIS (library catalog).

Digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public; supported by Library of Congress, National Science Foundation and various universities and individuals.