History Subject Guide

When researching information on a particular topic, it is important to identify the type of information you need. One way this is achieved is by understanding whether you need primary and secondary sources.

A simplified distinction between the two relates to the source’s degree of separation from the topic. However, this definition is somewhat vague, so this guide will discuss the differences between these two types of sources in more detail and how their characteristics effect the research process.

An Important Note - While the definitions for primary and secondary sources are pretty standard, these examples can vary from one type to the other, depending on how the materials are used. For example if you are doing research on the Holocaust, Schindler’s List might be a secondary source. However, if you are researching how the Holocaust is portrayed in film Schindler’s List would be a primary source.

History scholars and researchers desire primary sources to help them understand a specific event and its context. Typically they look for items created at the same time as an event such as:

• Newspaper articles
• Letters
• Advertisements
• Photos
• Journals
• Speeches
• Diaries
• Interviews
• Government Documents

While some of these documents may be published into books, or available in our databases, a majority of them will be found in special collections and archives and require you to travel to access them. Closer to home, the Library's Special Collection houses primary sources pertaining to Brethren history, Shenandoah Valley history, and the Civil War. But, you may be able to find resources covering additional topics. Contact our Special Collections Librarian to see if we have any materials related to your topic.

Recently, more archives have started to digitize their collections, but not all of them. Below are examples of some freely accessible online digital collections from other libraries.

• American Presidency Project

  Includes everything from the papers of George Washington to Trump's tweets

• History Matters

  Use the keyword search to find relevant primary and secondary sources.

• Hoover Institution Digital Collections

  Digitized collections include posters, images, and other documents from the Hoover Institution Library and Archives which "document[s] war, revolution, and peace in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries."

• Library of Congress Digital Collections

  Digital Collections from the Library of Congress

• National Archives Catalog

  Search through the national archives content. Many items available digitally.

• Veterans History Project - Library of Congress

  Allows you to search through the personal accounts of veterans

• WGBH Open Vault

  Primary source interviews and secondary source documentaries that aired on the TV station

• Wilson Center Digital Archives

  Browse or search through the many collections of digitized documents

• Chronicling America 

  The Library of Congress has digitized many local and historic newspapers (1789 – 1963).

• New York Times Digital Archive
  The complete archive of The New York Times can now be searched from NYTimes.com — more than 13 million articles total.
  *Note* ensure that you have activated your free Bridgewater College account.

• The Times (London) 

  Access to the archives of the London newspaper's weekly editions (excluding Sundays) from 1785-2008.

• Discover U.S. Government Information - Govinfo.gov

  Official site to find government publications. Scroll down for recent publications and Popular resources.

• USA.gov

  Government made easy; official government portal. Use search box for comprehensive searching. OR, choose Government Agencies tab for lists of Federal, state, or local agencies and their websites.

• GPO by FirstSearch

  For FirstSearch fans, this gateway provides access to U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, and debates; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive department

• A-Z list of Government Depts. and Agencies

  See tab on left for agencies by topic. Also has list of Agencies of each state.

• Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window

  A collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content relevant to military and government topics. Full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing/abstracts for more than 400 more.

• Data.gov

  Search open source federal datasets. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

For more government documents, visit our Government Documents guide.