540-828-5642 research@bridgewater.edu 540-318-1962
Special Collections For assistance with primary sources related to:
540-828-8018 Stephanie Gardner
Secondary sources reflect on the primary sources, often analyzing or interpreting them in order to draw a larger conclusion about the topic focused on by the primary sources. Instead of being contemporary with the topic or event, they are at least one step removed. Examples of these sources can be scholarly articles, books, reviews, criticisms, textbooks, or documentaries. Even encyclopedias fall into this category. Below are some more specific examples:
Criticisms about a popular novel or film
Chapter from a textbooks
Documentaries on the Civil War
Scholarly articles analyzing the employment of women during WWII
Magazine articles reporting on the current advances in quantum physics
An encyclopedia article outlining the philosophy of David Hume
Literature Reviews outlining the current developments in field of study
JSTOR is the online archives of scholarly journals in most fields. Full text begins with the first issue of many journals and ends with issues 5-7 years old.
This database covers all aspects of the humanities, with content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Contains full text of over 1,200 journals and indexing to many more.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Offers access to over 600 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers, covering fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Bridgewater subscribes to the full text of the Premium Journal Collection.