Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Limited Access to Special Collections

Special Collections is closed to on-site researchers and will not be accepting donations until further notice.

For more information on the John Kenny Forrer Learning Commons, click here: https://www.bridgewater.edu/learningcommons

Hours

Mission

Bridgewater College's Special Collections serves the College as a teaching and research collection, preserving and enriching student education and liberal arts scholarship. Special Collections serves as an authoritative resource for information, education, and research related Bridgewater College’s history, its development, and growth from its roots in the Church of the Brethren. In addition, it collects and preserves historic published and unpublished materials, Brethren heritage of the upper valley of Virginia, and the R.B. Pritchett Museum Collection of material culture

Special Collections is committed to maintaining standards of professional and ethical excellence in all its actions and embraces the standards set forth by the Society of American Archivists and the American Alliance of Museums. Our core priorities are to support students and faculty by integrating collections within the College’s educational programs and to support College staff and alumni through heritage-based preservation, outreach and digital scholarship. We also serve the regional community and contribute to worldwide scholarship through educational programs, collaboration with other special collections and museums and providing independent researchers with access to the collections.

Special Collections Highlights

Ad for Bridgewater College Baseball 1906

Broadside Advertising Bridgewater College Baseball versus Randolph-Macon 1906

Photography of Flory Hall in snow by David Cook

Flory Hall in the Snow by David Cook 1994

McCann Family

McCann Family - Brethren Missionaries to India and Educators at BC

Detailed Image of Russian Lacquer Art Box

Detailed Image of Russian Lacquer Art Box

Student Studying in Library 1959

Student Studying in Library 1959