Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: Special Collections: Collections

Collection Examples

Examples of our specialized collections include:

Historical records, photographs, and publications of Bridgewater College
Extensive Virginia history and culture reference library
Regional genealogy references
Regional Civil War soldiers' letters
John W. Wayland's papers, maps, and publications
Regional 19th-20th century diaries and daybooks
Historic local imprints
Extensive Church of the Brethren history reference library
The Donald R. Hinks Collection of Brethren Hymnals

Digital Collections

Bridgewater College: The First Hundred Years 1880-1980 by Francis F. Wayland
Dr. Wayland’s authoritative history book of Bridgewater College, published in 1993
Bridgewater College Archival Photographs
From the Bridgewater College Digital Commons Repository
Bridgewater College Archival Publications
From the Bridgewater College Digital Commons Repository
Der hoch-deutsch Americanische Calender, auf das Jahr 1753
Christopher Sower Press Almanac
Der Neue Hoch-Deutsche Americanische Calender, Auf Das Jahr, 1794
Christopher Sower Press Almanac
Regional Bird Journal 1918, 1947-1950
Compiled by Bridgewater College Students

Digital Compilations that Include Bridgewater College Special Collections:

Brethren Digital Archives
A collaborative project among Church of the Brethren repositories
Pennsylvanian German Broadsides in North America, 1730-1830
Bridgewater's contribution to Penn State University Libraries' Digitized Collection
Bridgewater College: Its Past and Present. A Tribute of the Alumni.
An authoritative early history book of Bridgewater College, Dr. John W. Wayland, et al., 1905

The two collections below contain digitized primary sources on the historic shape-note music industry and singing culture of Rockingham County, Virginia.

The digital collections were curated by Tyler Brinkerhoff and include primary sources from multiple archives, including material from Bridgewater College Special Collections. Histories along the Blue Ridge (HBR) is a collaborative project between James Madison University and the Rockingham County Circuit Courthouse that is making rare documents from Rockingham County’s storied past accessible to the public.