Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: Special Collections: Special Collections Exhibits

Special Collections Exhibits

Thank you for visiting our digital Special Collections exhibits page. Here, we aggregate our digital versions of our Special Collections exhibits, which are shown in the lower level of the John Kenny Forrer Learning Commons. For more information on the exhibits, see below:

State of Change: Civil Rights and the Virginia Constitution
State of Change: Civil Rights and the Virginia Constitution, a Bridgewater College Special Collections exhibit opened April 16, 2021. The exhibit celebrated the 50th anniversary of the 1971 Virginia Constitution. State of Change utilized Bridgewater College's Robert R. Newlen '75 and John C. Bradford Special Collections' primary sources to explore civil rights in Virginia, especially within the context of differences between the 1971 (current) and 1902 (earlier) Virginia Constitution.. The exhibit focused on themes of Virginia constitutional history, slavery in the Shenandoah Valley, African American voting rights, criminal justice, the Civil Rights movement in Virginia, and work by the Church of the Brethren
Getting the Band Back Together
Music programs are a vital part of college life and culture. This is especially true here at Bridgewater College. Bridgewater College’s first band was likely a small string band formed in 1904. Since then, The College has boasted numerous bands, including concert, stage, pep, dance, symphonic, jazz, and our exhibit’s focus-the marching band!

As the brand-new Screamin’ Eagles Marching Band debuts in the fall of 2021, we look back to the forerunners who started it all: the original Bridgewater College marching band. Join Bridgewater College Special Collections as we present the older band’s rich and vibrant history and explore its connections to the new Screamin’ Eagles.