Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: Psychology Subject Guide: Historical Psychology Texts

Introduction

Access to these classic titles related to the history of mental illness and treatment in the US is available through reprints part of the library's collection and through digitized versions of the text available online. This guide provides access information for both formats.

Digitized access available online - Dorothea Dix Memorials

Memorial to the legislature of Massachusetts
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1843
From: Archive.org
City of Boston: lunatic hospital
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1843
From: Archive.org
Memorial, to the Honorable the Legislature of the State of New-York
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1844
From: Archive.org
Memorial soliciting a state hospital for the insane : submitted to the Legislature of New Jersey
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1845
From: Archive.org
Memorial soliciting a state hospital for the insane submitted to the legislature of Pennsylvania
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1845
From: Archive.org
Memorial soliciting an appropriation for the state hospital for the insane, at Lexington
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1846
From: Hathi Trust
Memorial of Miss D.L. Dix, : In relation to the Illinois penitentiary
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1847
From: Archive.org
Memorial soliciting enlarged and improved accommodations for the insane of the state of Tennessee : by the establishment of a new hospital
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1847
From: Archive.org
Memorial of D.L. Dix : praying a grant of land for the relief and support of the indigent curable and incurable insane in the United States
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1848
From: Archive.org
Memorial soliciting a state hospital for the protection and cure of the insane : submitted to the General Assembly of North Carolina
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1848
From: Archive.org
Memorial Soliciting a State Hospital for the Insane: Submitted to the Legislature of Alabama
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1849
From: Archive.org
Memorial of Miss D. L. Dix, to the Hon. the General Assembly in behalf of the insane of Maryland
Author: Dorothea Lynde Dix, 1852
From: Archive.org

Digitized access online - other notable texts

Medico-Philosophical Treatise on Mental Alienation: Entirely Reworked and Extensively Expanded (1809), Second Edition
Author: Philippe Pinel, 1809
Trans: Hickish, Healy, and Charland
From: Wiley Online
Medical inquiries and observations, upon the diseases of the mind
Author: Benjamin Rush, 1812
From: Archive.org
Description of the Retreat, an institution near York, for insane persons of the Society of Friends : containing an account of its origin and progress, the modes of treatment, and a statement of cases
Author: Samuel Tuke, 1813
From: Archive.org
The treatment of insanity
Author: John Galt, 1846
From: Archive.org
On the construction, organization, and general arrangements of hospitals for the insane
Author: Thomas S. Kirkbride, 1854
From: Archive.org
History of the Association of Medical Superintendents of American Institutions for the Insane, from 1844 to 1884, inclusive, with a list of the different hospitals for the insane, and the names and dates of appointment and resignation of the medical super
Author: John Curwen, 1875
From: Hathi Trust
The original thirteen members of the Association of Medical Superintendents of American institutions for the insane
Author: John Curwen, 1885
From: Hathi Trust
The curability of insanity : a series of studies
Author: Pliny Earle, 1887
From: Archive.org

Psychology Subject Guide

Research Help

Introduction

Digitized access available online - Dorothea Dix Memorials

Digitized access online - other notable texts