Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: ART 202 Non Western Graphic Design Class Guide: Using EBSCO

EBSCO Suite

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
A comprehensive research and reference resource tool covering subjects related to communications and mass media. It provides full-text access to over 450 journals and abstract level access to over 700 others.

Search Tips for EBSCO

In order to get the most out of your research in EBSCO, try searching through both Academic Search Complete and Communications and Mass Media Complete simultaneously.

Here's how:

Open Academic Search Complete.
Select "Choose Databases."
Select the appropriate databases from the list by clicking the checkbox next to each database. For this assignment, Communications and Mass Media Complete is recommended.
Select "OK."
Begin searching using keywords and database tools.

For your keywords, ensure that you are using Boolean Operators. Some recommended uses of Boolean operators for this assignment are:

"graphic design"—you will get results about that particular phrase rather than results with graphic and design separated in different locations of the document
AND Korea—use AND to tell the database that you want resources that discuss "graphic design" AND the country that you have chosen to explore

Make use of limiters! They are are your friend. If you're only looking for articles from a specific country, for example, there is an option to limit results by "Geography":