Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: FILA 150 After the Scourge Class Guide: Finding Academic Articles and Resources

Before You Start

Before you open one of the below databases, please checkout how to search in databases within the "Research Basics" tab. If you take the time to decide on a topic, create keywords, and use the database searching tools that will make the most sense for your assignment, you will find sources for your paper much more efficiently.

Looking for something in particular?:

At the very least, before entering a database, you should have brainstormed the keywords that you would like to search in the database. Searching a thesis statement exactly as it appears will not yield results in the same way as it would if you were searching within Google.

Useful Databases

Most Recommended:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. We subscribe to the Health Sciences and Life Sciences module.

Other Recommended Sources:

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is the online archives of scholarly journals in most fields. Full text begins with the first issue of many journals and ends with issues 5-7 years old.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 600 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers, covering fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Bridgewater subscribes to the full text of the Premium Journal Collection.

FILA 150 After the Scourge Class Guide

Research Help

Before You Start

Useful Databases

Most Recommended:

Other Recommended Sources:

Other Web Sources