Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: PWR 227 Food Writing Class Guide: Finding Articles and Websites

Food Sections From Magazines

A number of popular magazines include food sections in their publications, or regularly publish food related articles. Below are a few available through our library collection.

National Geographic
Available via Academic Search Complete, the Publisher's Website, and the library's print holdings
The New Yorker
Available via Academic Search Complete and the library's print holdings
Smithsonian
Available via Humanities International Complete and the library's print holdings
New York Times
Please note: All students have free access to NY Times. Go to accessNYT.com. Search for Bridgewater College. And, use Bridgewater college email address.

Some of these articles have even been gathered together into anthologies. The two below are not in our library's collection but may be requested via interlibrary loan.

Eat, memory : great writers at the table : a collection of essays from the New York Times by Amanda Hesser
ISBN: 9780393067637
Publication Date: 2008-11-17
New York Times Magazine food editor Amanda Hesser has showcased the food-inspired recollections of some of America's leading writers--playwrights, screenwriters, novelists, poets, journalists--in the magazine.
Secret ingredients : the New Yorker book of food and drink
ISBN: 9780812976410
Publication Date: 2009-11-03
A sample of the menu: Woody Allen on dieting the Dostoevski way • Roger Angell on the art of the martini • Don DeLillo on Jell-O • Malcolm Gladwell on building a better ketchup •

Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines the information found in Gale's literature resources including Literature Resource Center and Literary Criticism Online.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 600 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers, covering fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Bridgewater subscribes to the full text of the Premium Journal Collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is the online archives of scholarly journals in most fields. Full text begins with the first issue of many journals and ends with issues 5-7 years old.
LexisNexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to international news sources, as well as information on businesses and legal cases.

PWR 227 Food Writing Class Guide

Research Help

Food Blogs

Food Sections From Magazines

Relevant Databases