Once you have located sources for your project, you will want to make sure that they are used responsibly. Here is a guide on using the Chicago citation style.
Created by the University of Chicago Press, Chicago style (specifically, Notes-Bibliography System) is used for:
The Author-Date System of Chicago style is more often used for social sciences.
The Notes-Bibliography system and the Author-Date system are two forms of citing works in a Chicago-style piece. The differences between these two systems are as follows.
The Notes-Bibliography system uses:
The Author-Date system uses:
Both systems are very similar but have certain key differences, so be sure to check which system to use for your assignment!
Footnote:
First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Periodical vol., no. (year): page(s), access date, DOI or URL.
Example:
Bibliography:
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical vol., no. (year): pages. Access date. DOI or URL.
Example:
Footnote:
Traditional Print books:
First Name Last Name, Title of Book (City of publication: Publisher, year of publication), page number.
Examples:
Electronic books:
First Name Last Name, Title of book (City of publication: Publisher, year of publication), URL.
Audiobooks:
First Name Last Name, Title of book, read by First Name Last Name (City of publication: Publisher, year), medium [i.e., audible audio, audiobook], running time.
Bibliography
Traditional Print books:
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Examples:
Electronic books:
Last Name, First Name. Title of book. City of publication: Publisher, year of publication. URL.
Audiobooks:
Last Name First Name. Title of book. Read by First Name Last Name. City of publication: Publisher, year. Medium [i.e., audible audio, audiobook], running time.
Footnotes
Traditional print news article:
First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year.
*Lesser-known newspapers should be followed by (City, abbr. State)*
Online news article:
First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year, URL
Bibliography
Traditional print news article:
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year.
*Lesser-known newspapers should be followed by (City, abbr. State)*
Online news article (from a publisher with a physical newspaper):
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. URL
Footnotes:
First Name Last Name, "Title of Page," Website Name, Publishing Organization, publication/revision date if available OR access date, URL.
"Title of page." Site name, publication/revision date if available OR access date, URL.
"Title of page." Site name, publication/revision date if available OR access date, URL.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Page." Website Name. Publishing Organization. Publication/revision date if available OR access date. URL.
"Title of page." Site name. Publication/revision date if available OR access date. URL.
"Title of page." Site name. Publication/revision date if available OR access date. URL.
Footnotes:
Blog post:
First Name Last Name, "Title of Blogpost," Name of Blog (blog), Month Day, Year of blogpost, URL of blogpost.
Facebook:
First Name Last Name or Name of Group, "Text of first sentence/description of the post," Facebook, Month Day, Year of Post, URL.
Instagram:
First Name Last Name or Name of Group (@username), "Text of first sentence/description of the post," Instagram, Month Day, Year of Post, URL.
Twitter:
First Name Last Name or Name of Group (@username), "Text of first sentence/description of the post," Twitter, Month Day, Year of Post, URL.
*Typically, blog posts and social media posts (e.g., Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) are only cited in the notes. If you use a post multiple times, however, then you may elect to include it in the bibliography*
YouTube (or other streaming services):
First name Last Name of the creator, “Title of the video or audio,” Youtube, Month Day, Year posted, video, video length, URL.
Bibliography:
Blog post:
Last Name First Name. "Title of Blogpost." Name of Blog (blog). Month Day, Year of blogpost. URL of blogpost.
Facebook:
Last Name, First Name or Name of Group. "Text of first sentence/description of the post." Facebook. Month Day, Year of Post. URL.
Instagram:
Last Name, First Name or Name of Group (@username). "Text of first sentence/description of the post." Instagram. Month Day, Year of Post. URL.
Twitter:
Last Name, First Name or Name of Group (@username). "Text of first sentence/description of the post." Twitter. Month Day, Year of Post. URL.
*Typically, blog posts and social media posts (e.g., Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) are only cited in the notes. If you use a post multiple times, however, then you may elect to include it in the bibliography*
YouTube (or other streaming services):
Last Name, First name of the creator. “Title of the video or audio.” Youtube. Month Day, Year posted. Video. Video length. URL.
Bibliography:
Last Name, First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical vol., no. (Season/Month): pages. Access date. DOI or URL.
Example:
Bibliography
Traditional Print books:
Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher.
Examples:
Electronic books:
Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of book. City of publication: Publisher. URL.
Audiobooks:
Last Name, First Name. Year. Title of book. Read by First Name Last Name. City of publication: Publisher. Medium [i.e., audible audio, audiobook], running time.
Bibliography
Traditional print news article:
Last Name, First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year.
*Lesser-known newspapers should be followed by (City, abbr. State)*
Online news article (from a publisher with a physical newspaper):
Last Name, First Name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. URL.
Bibliography
Last Name, First Name. Year. "Title of Page." Website Name. Publishing Organization. Publication/revision date if available OR access date. URL.
"Title of page." Year. Site name. Publication/revision date if available OR access date. URL.
"Title of page." Year. Site name. Publication/revision date if available OR access date. URL.
Bibliography:
Blog post:
Last Name, First Name. Year. "Title of Blogpost." Name of Blog (blog). Month Day, Month Day, Year of blogpost. URL of blogpost.
Facebook:
Last Name, First Name or Name of Group. Year."Text of first sentence/description of the post." Facebook. Month Day, Year of Post. URL.
Instagram:
Last Name, First Name or Name of Group (@username). Year."Text of first sentence/description of the post." Instagram. Month Day, Year of Post. URL.
Twitter:
Last Name, First Name or Name of Group (@username). Year. "Text of first sentence/description of the post." Twitter. Month Day, Year of Post. URL.
*Typically, blog posts and social media posts (e.g., Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) are only cited in the notes. If you use a post multiple times, however, then you may elect to include it in the bibliography*
YouTube (or other streaming services):
Last Name, First name of the creator. Year. “Title of the video or audio.” Youtube. Month Day, Year posted. Video. Video length. URL.
Whenever you use a resource and directly quote the source or paraphrase some of their ideas in your own paper, you need to cite the source in-line or in footnotes. This is the case when using sources in PowerPoints as well. You also must cite your sources when you are using an image in your paper or PowerPoint. All citations need to be in your References at the end of your paper or as your last slide, as well.
For more information on footnote citations in NB see above examples. For more information on in-line citations in AD see the below examples:
For Chicago AD style, when referring to a particular idea by or quoting a source, in-line citations follow a parenthetical format:
(Last Name Year, Page Number(s))
Example:
In their article, Weitsman and Eddy argue that "[e]xperiments studying the transcription, translation, and functionality of random of random sequences are proving to be fruitful territory" (Weitsman & Eddy 2017, 663).
To transform the above information into a proper citation, you'll need to consult the appropriate style guide. The library has copies of each guide available for use. You also may want to use one of the many citation management/generator tools that are available either for free or a subscription fee.
A word of caution when using tools such as those listed below. Don't assume that the citation is correct, instead always verify the citation before turning in your paper. Glitches and uncommon formatting can cause trouble for these automatic generators.
Many library databases also include an automatic citation option. This is normally indicated by a quotation mark symbol. If you're using the library's Discovery system to find articles, you are able to use the citation function directly through there. This is a great resource, but remember to proofread the citation. Notice here how the citation created reads "INSERT-MISSING-URL".
