Skip to main content

Special Collections

Donating Items to the Collection

Bridgewater College Special Collections welcomes donations in the areas of our scope of collecting.  These are artifacts and archives concerning:

  • Bridgewater College
  • Church of the Brethren
  • Virginia, Shenandoah Valley, and Rockingham County History
  • Genealogy (especially of regionally based families and families associated with the Church of the Brethren)

We are unable to accept donations of materials that are badly damaged, molded, outside our scope of collecting, or that duplicate other items in the collection.

The Special Collections Librarian looks forward to speaking with you about potential donations. Financial contributions are also welcomed to help preserve your donation.

Supporting the Special Collections

Your support will help us preserve the legacy of our special collections and keep them available for future generation. Gifts are tax-deductible.

You can use Bridgewater’s secure online gift form. Click on the Online Donation Form link below. Designate the amount you would like to donate. Then, under Designation, select “Other” and type “Library Special Collections” in the box. Click “Add Donation” to complete your gift.

If you send your donation directly to the Office of Institutional Advancement, please note “Library Special Collections” on your check.  

For more information about donations or including the library in your estate plan, you may contact the Office of Institutional Advancement at (540) 828-5448.