You might be unfamiliar with the best way to search through the library's databases or why you should use them over Google Scholar. For more information on searching through the library's databases, see this guide.
It will show you how to use the library databases and how to decide which database will be best for you. It also provides a wealth of information into the use of some of our multidisciplinary databases, including Academic Search Complete and JSTOR.
For your Multimodal Project, you'll need to find articles, book chapters, webpages, etc. to back up your research. The best kind of citation is a peer-reviewed article. This is because of the process that a peer-reviewed article has to go through in order to be published. For more information on peer-reviewed articles, click here.
To find these kinds of resources, visit library databases. Recommended databases for this course are listed below. To see all databases that the library subscribes to, click here.
Before you begin searching, make sure that you have a good idea of what you should be searching. Think about what your topic is and come up with topics and keywords that might make sense for your search.
Too broad: World War II
Too narrow: Survival rate of green-eyed Canadian soldiers during World War II battles on even days of the month.
Just right: How underground newspapers aided the French Resistance during World War II
Keywords translate your topic into search terms that you can use in the databases or online. You don't want to type in your entire topic sentence. Instead pull out the key terms. Also, don't forget about synonyms that could be use to describe your topic.
Topic Sentence: Climate change is effecting the survival rate of Emperor penguin chick born in the wild.
Keywords: climate change, global warming, penguins, Emperor penguins, survival, birth rate, chicks, eggs
Your keywords and your topic are not set in stone. You might find as you research that either of them may change based on what you find. It's all part of the research process!
Look for ways to limit your results:
For more advanced search techniques, visit this guide.
Once you have an idea of what your keywords should be, decide on the database you should use. Recommended databases for this class are below.