Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: ART 300W Modern and Postmodern Art Class Guide: Suggested Websites and Publications

Below you will find a large selection of content that will help you find high-quality sources for this assignment:

Please also remember to look at your artist's website. Often, there is an artist statement included on these pages that will help you to get inside the brain of your artist.

Art History/Education Websites

Smarthistory
Smarthistory, the Center for Public Art History, provides art history content from more than 500 leading art historians, archaeologists, and museum curators.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy is a nonprofit educational organization that provides online lessons, videos, and articles about a variety of topics.
Artsy
Artsy is a great site to help you identify where artists have their works on display, which can lead you to the correct museum websites to search.
The Art Story
The Art Story provides incredible synopses of an artist's major accomplishments, notable works, and influences. It's also a great jumping off point to other resources by and about the artist.
Google Arts and Culture
Google Arts and Culture provides short synopses of artists' lives and their works.

Museum Websites

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met, found in New York City, is one of the most iconic art museums in the United States, and includes a wealth of art history and interpretation content.
Museum of Modern Art
MoMA's website provides through-provoking interpretations of modern art.
Art Institute of Chicago
The Art Institute of Chicago provides a number of active learning resources for art history.
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
SFMOMA has a large collection of modern and contemporary art, so it will be particularly useful for this course.
Philadelphia Museum of Art
The Philadelphia Museum of Art includes a great collection of modern art and will often provide articles about their major works.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
LACMA exhibits and interprets works of art from new and unexpected points of view, especially attempting to honor culture heritages and diverse populations.
Whitney Museum of American Art
The Whitney has a very large collection of twentieth- and twenty-first-century American art.
Walker Art Center
The Walker Art Center includes a large collection of modern and contemporary art.
Tate Gallery
Tate is a British museum with a collection art from 1500 to the present day, and it also includes a great international modern/contemporary art collection.
National Gallery of Art
The national art museum of the US, located in Washington D.C., includes a wide scope and magnitude, and they provide a great number of educational resources about their artists.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Includes a large amount of American art from the colonial period to today.
Getty Museum
Getty has two Los Angeles museums and provides research into visual art and cultural heritage.

Want to search all of these sites at once through Google? Copy and paste the search below and add your artist to the end of the search:

Art Publications

ARTews
ARTnews is an American visual-arts magazine covering art from ancient to contemporary times.
Art in America
From the same publisher as ARTnews, Art in America focuses on contemporary art from the United States,
Art Journal
Publication of the College Art Association, archive available through JSTOR.
The Art Bulletin
Publication of the College Art Association, archive available through JSTOR.
Art Journal OPEN
Open access content published by the College Art Association.
Art Education
Published by the National Art Education Association, available through JSTOR.
Studies in Art Education
Published by the National Art Education Association, available through JSTOR.

Popular Sources (newspapers, magazines, etc.)

New Yorker
A highly influential magazine that includes high-quality commentary on art and culture.
The Atlantic
An American magazine founded by Ralph Waldo Emerson and Francis H. Underwood with a substantial arts and culture column.
Smithsonian Magazine
Published by the Smithsonian Institution, this magazine looks at a diverse collection of topics through the lens of research.
New York Times
Incredibly influential daily newspaper with a robust arts and culture column. Don't forget to get full access through BC!
The Washington Post
American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C.
The Guardian
British daily newspaper covering international topics, including arts and culture.

Want to search all of these sites at once through Google? Copy and paste the search below and add your artist to the end of the search:

Broadcast Sources

BBC
British Broadcasting Company includes news, TV, and radio, and covers art content.
NPR
National Public Radio interviews artists about their works.
PBS
PBS has a number of segments that look into the artists of America.
Art21
Art21 is a nonprofit organization that provides unique access to contemporary artists.

ART 300W Modern and Postmodern Art Class Guide

Research Help

Art History/Education Websites

Museum Websites

Art Publications

Popular Sources (newspapers, magazines, etc.)

Broadcast Sources