Forrer Learning Commons Library Services: English Literature and Drama Subject Guide: Library Resources

Research Help

Contact Research Librarians

540-828-5642
research@bridgewater.edu
540-318-1962

Special Collections
For assistance with primary sources related to:

Bridgewater College
Church of the Brethren
regional history materials
the Reuel B. Pritchett Museum Collection

540-828-8018
Stephanie Gardner

Browse the Stacks

Here are some relevant call numbers for you to browse:

Language and Linguistics - Dewey 400-410 or Library of Congress PA-PM
English language - Dewey 420-430 or Library of Congress PE
General literature and rhetoric - Dewey 800 or Library of Congress PN
American Literature and drama - Dewey 810-819 or Library of Congress PS
British Literature and drama - Dewey 820-829 or Library of Congress PR

Sample Titles

The Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen by Edward Copeland (Editor); Juliet McMaster (Editor)
Call Number: 823.7 A933Yc, 1997
ISBN: 9780521495172
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Writing in the Kitchen by David A. Davis (Editor); Tara Powell (Editor); Jessica B. Harris (Foreword by)
Call Number: 810.9975 W956, 2014
ISBN: 9781628460230
Publication Date: 2014-08-04

Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of plays from new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting. Also includes contextual information and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines the information found in Gale's literature resources including Literature Resource Center and Literary Criticism Online.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of the humanities, with content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Contains full text of over 1,200 journals and indexing to many more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is the online archives of scholarly journals in most fields. Full text begins with the first issue of many journals and ends with issues 5-7 years old.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on the topics of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 600 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers, covering fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Bridgewater subscribes to the full text of the Premium Journal Collection.
Salem Press Titles This link opens in a new window
Access to online versions of our 46 Salem Press titles.