Skip to main content

Requesting Items During Renovation: Home

The Library @ West Side Flory

Library services have migrated to the west side of Flory during our renovation and the transformation to the John Kenny Forrer Learning Commons. During our stay in Flory you will still have access to 

  • Circulation
  • Research Assistance
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Special Collections

Part of the collection has moved to Flory, including Browsing books, Newspapers, DVDs, CDs, and Reserves.

The main General Collection and the Juvenile collection are currently closed to the public, but will be available through checkout through a hold system. 

Closed Collection During Renovation

While library services are in West Side Flory, the General Collection and Juvenile Collection will be closed to public access. We have implemented a Hold System in order for you to request item to be pulled from the closed collection. Below are the directions to place a hold on an item.

Policies for Hold Request include:

  • Items will be available by the next business day after a hold is placed. Holds will not be processed after 4:30pm and on Weekends.
  • You will receive an email alert when you hold is available for pick up. Holds will be available in West Side Flory room 112/115.
  • Items will be kept on the Hold shelf for 3 days, after 3 days items will be returned to the closed collection if not picked up by the patron.

Placing a Hold on Journals

If you would like to see a print issue of one of our magazine or journals, you can put a hold on that issue just like you can with one of our books. The Holds form will only work for BC faculty, staff, and students. Community patrons should contact circulation@bridgewater.edu to request access to an item.

Questions about journals available for holds can also be directed to Roberta Lowe (rlowe@bridgewater.edu)

1. Search for the item in ALEX Discovery like you would normally do. Click on the title of the item. Scroll until you see the library's print holdings for the journal, above the holding summary you should see a Place Hold button.

Image of Journal page in ALEX Discovery

 

2. When you click on the Place Hold button, it should ask for your BC username and password. Then, you should see the Hold Request form. Scroll through the list of issues until you find the one you need. If the date of the issue is nested with others (see example below), enter the exact date/issue you would like in the "Item Descriptions/Notes" box.

Image of hold request form for a journal

 

3. You will receive an email confirming your hold and a second email when it is ready to pick up in Flory.

4.  Holds can be managed in your Library Account or by calling the circulation desk.

Placing a Hold on Books

*Holds are only available for Bridgewater Faculty, Staff, and Students. Community Patrons will need to call or email the Circulation desk to request an item from the collection.

1. Search for the item in ALEX Discovery, like you would normally do. Click on the Title of the item.

Click on the title of an item to place a hold

 

2. Once you find the item you need, above the call number you will see a Hold Button. Click on the button. It will ask you to sign in with your BC username and password.

 

 

3. Fill out the Hold Request form. You do not need to enter the Date information.

 

Image of hold request form

4. You will receive an confirmation email when your hold is received.

5. We will email you again when your hold is read to be picked up.

6. Holds can be managed in your Library account, or by calling the circulation desk.

 

 

Contact the Library

Main Circulation Desk
Call Us: 540-828-5413
Email Us: circulation@bridgewater.edu 

Questions? Ask the Mack!
Call Us: 540-828-5642
Email Us: reference@bridgewater.edu
Text Us: 540-318-1962

Schedule a Research Consultation!

Video - Requesting a Hold 2018

Copyright © 2014 Bridgewater College