Skip to main content

Alexander Mack Library: About the Library

Andrew's Profile

Andrew Pearson

Andrew Pearson
Library Director

Office Phone #: 540-828-5410
Office Email: apearson@bridgewater.edu

Professional Portfolio : AndrewPearson

Contact the Library

Main Circulation Desk
Call Us: 540-828-5413
Email Us: circulation@bridgewater.edu 

Questions? Ask the Mack!
Call Us: 540-828-5642
Email Us: reference@bridgewater.edu
Text Us: 540-318-1962

Schedule a Research Consultation!

About the Library

For 2018-2019, Library Services is located in Flory Hall, the central administration building on campus, during construction and renovation of the Alexander Mack Memorial Library to be transformed into the John Kenny Forrer Learning Commons.

Librarians and other trained staff are available to offer formal research instruction or point-of-use assistance for students learning how to conduct research or use resources. The library’s webpage (https://libguides.bridgewater.edu/home)
includes research guides, “how-to” guides and video tutorials on using the library’s resources.

Special Collections holds reference copies of many of College’s past publications.  These include the Ripples yearbooks, student newspapers from around 1920 to 1999, the old and new Philomatheans, books on Bridgewater College history, College history files, and many of the College’s archival photographs. The remainder of its primary source collections have been placed in secure storage during construction and are unavailable.

The print collections are not physically accessible during this period of the construction project. Collection access is available by using the library’s online catalog, Alex Discovery, at https://libguides.bridgewater.edu/home. When a book has the location “Bridgewater College Library at Flory Hall,” you may place a hold request on the book which will notify our staff to retrieve the book and make it available for checkout at library services at Flory Hall.

The DVD collection and CD collection are browsable and available for check out in Circulation Services / Flory.
 
The library provides access to over 50,000 full-text journals, 26,000 e-books, and over 100 online databases which include thousands of streaming videos.

Library Mission and Vision

The mission of the Alexander Mack Memorial Library is to make available the broad range of learning materials necessary for a comprehensive education in the liberal arts.  Since learning occurs best in an environment where freedom of inquiry and analysis is valued, the library offers access to current resources and technologies that represent a variety of ideas and perspectives and provides learning spaces for critical engagement with these resources.  Supporting the college’s academic programs and mission is the primary goal of the library, but it also encourages lifelong learning by making its collection available to alumni and members of the local community.

 

Bridgewater College envisions the Alexander Mack Memorial Library as a gateway to knowledge for students, staff, faculty, and community residents. The library thus seeks to

  • Promote a full exploration of knowledge through the use of a wide variety of traditional and contemporary technologies;
  • Provide professional assistance to library users as they search, acquire, verify, and responsibly document information responsibly by using a wide variety of contemporary and traditional technologies;
  • Offer an inviting collaborative setting and programs that enhance a culture of learning consistent with Bridgewater College’s liberal arts tradition and curriculum;
  • Maintain and enhance holdings, facilities, and space that are commensurate with a growing student population;
  • Collect and preserve historical materials related to the history of the college, the Church of the Brethren, and the region and make these materials available to students, faculty, and independent researchers. 

 

Copyright © 2014 Bridgewater College