Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Offers journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. We subscribe to the Health Sciences and Life Sciences module.
Provides full text for 550 journals related to sports and sports medicine.
Search Tips
Once you find a database, here are some tips for searching it as efficiently as possible:
Most databases allow you to narrow down your results by subject area, type of material, or date published. Date published is especially important in an area like health/exercise science where information can become dated very quickly.
Explore the subject or thesaurus terms that are used by most databases. Since these are standardized, they allow you to find all the relevant information on a particular subject and weed out irrelevant results.
Remember to use Boolean Operators to help make your search more efficient:
AND will produce results that contain BOTH terms (e.g. birds AND bees)
OR generates results that contain EITHER term (e.g. dogs OR canines)
NOT results will include the first terms, but not the second (cats NOT musical)
Quotation marks will isolate that phrase: "natural selection" lists results containing only that specific phrase, but results for natural selection would contain natural AND selection somewhere, not necessarily side by side
