Off-Campus Access
Links for off-campus access are available on our off-campus databases guide.
You will need your college ID # and name for verification.
They can be found on your college ID card or in WebAdvisor.
Journal Finder
Have an article's citation and looking for the full text? Use our Journal Finder tool to search through all our databases as once!
Subject Guides
Use our subject guides to find library materials specific for your subject
A
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- ACM Digital LibraryACM is the world's oldest and largest educational and scientific computing society. Since 1947 ACM has provided a vital forum for the exchange of information, ideas, and discoveries. Today, ACM serves a membership of computing professionals and students in more than 100 countries in all areas of industry, academia, and government.
- ACS Web EditionsFull Text of journals published by the American Chemical Society from the past five years. Indexes and abstracts from 1962.
- African American Studies CenterThis online searchable database from Oxford University Press includes over 7500 articles from its authoritative reference program; it features primary source documents, biographies, images, maps, timelines, and important demographic charts and tables on the African American Experience.
- Alt HealthWatchFocusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, this database offers more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.
- American History in VideoAmerican History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
- Annual Review of BiochemistryIndex of reviews for biochemistry
- Annual Review of Biophysics and Biomolecular StructureIndex of reviews for biophysics and biomolecular structure
- Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and SystematicsIndex of reviews of ecology, evolution, and systematics
- Annual Review of GeneticsIndex of reviews of genetics
- Annual Review of MicrobiologyIndex of reviews of microbiology
- Annual Review of NutritionIndex of reviews for nutrition
- Annual Review of Physical ChemistryIndex of reviews for physical chemistry
- Annual Review of PsychologyIndex of reviews for psychology
- Annual Review of SociologyIndex of reviews for sociology
- AnthrosourceCurrent issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association’s most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly and an electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association’s journals.
- ArticleFirst by FirstSearch23,000,000+ articles from 16,000+ sources in business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, and popular culture
- ARTstorA searchable collection of hundreds of thousands of images and related data from prominent national and international institutions and galleries. Collections represented include: Carnegie Arts of the United States; Hartill Archive of Architecture and allied Arts; Huntington Archive of Asian Art; Native American Art & Culture, Smithsonian Institution; Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection. A valuable resource for digital resources in history and the humanities.
- Associates Programs SourceThe Associates Program Source is designed specifically for junior & community colleges focusing on a variety of topics such as accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials includes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays from more than 1,616 journals in all fields of religion.
B
- Biological AbstractsProvides abstract level coverage of critical journals needed to prepare research projects, grant proposals and follow trends in the life sciences. Explore relevant disciplines from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Use specialized indexing to discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.
- Books-In-Print with ReviewsBooksInPrint offers bibliographic information on over 5 million in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming book, audio, and video titles.
- Business Source CompleteA definitive scholarly business database.
C
- Choice Reviews OnlineChoice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationThe Chronicle is a source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- CINAHLCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and the allied health professionals. This database provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- ClasePeriodica by FirstSearchIndex of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with other journals to create a comprehensive research and reference resource tool.
- Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteThis database covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines including engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.
- Country StudiesThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- Criminal Justice Periodical IndexA comprehensive database in Crime and Justice studies. Full Text for about 50 journals and indexing and abstracts for another 140 journals.
D
- Dow Jones FactivaBusiness, industry, and market data; extensive newspaper and journal articles; quick links to essential business web sites. Business, industry, and market data; extensive newspaper and journal articles; quick links to essential business web sites.
E
- Ebooks by FirstSearchOCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
- EBSCO eBook CollectionCollection of eBooks available through EBSCO
- ECONLITEconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Also included are fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
- Economia y NegociosA bibliographic database in the areas of business and economics supplied in Spanish and English for over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, and the United States.
- Education Research CompleteThis is a definitive online resource for education research.
- Encyclopedia BritannicaThe online version of this well respected general encyclopedia.
- Environment CompleteThis offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
- ERIC by FirstSearchContains annotated references to nonjournal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
F
- Fuente AcadémicaFuente Académica is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.
G
- Global Reference CenterHome of comprehensive online content in a variety of global languages. These extensive and thorough databases are intuitive and fast, delivering trustworthy information from around the globe.
- GPO by FirstSearchCovers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
- Grove Music OnlineGrove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
H
- HarpWeek (1857-1877)This database provides full text articles from Harper's Magazine, 1857-1877.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionAn extensive collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionProvides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
- Horn Book Guide Online (Bk Summaries)The Horn Book Guide Online is the online version of this important review source for Children's Literature.
- Hospitality & Tourism CompleteThis database covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
- Humanities International CompleteThis database covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
I
- Issues & ControversiesIn-depth investigations of today's top issues
J
- JSTORJSTOR is the online archives of scholarly journals in most fields.
L
- Legal CollectionThis is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full text access to international news sources, as well as information on businesses and legal cases
- Literature Criticism OnlineProvides full text online access to Gale's popular literature criticism titles: Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
- Literature Resource CenterBiographical and critical information about writers and their works. A great starting place for literary research.
M
- MasterFILE PremierThis provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
- MathSciNetThe online version of the Mathematical Reviews Database, the database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It covers journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research.
- MedicLatinaMedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
- MEDLINE by FirstSearchAll areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing
- MEDLINE by PubMedAll areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing
- Mergent HorizonFinding, filtering and organizing information about companies and industries
- Mergent OnlineIn-depth company reports, comparative company reports, company tear sheets, company competitors lists as well as concise overviews on countries.
- Military & Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
N
- NatureNPG publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine. Content encompasses daily news from award-winning journalists, expert opinion and practical methodology, and more high impact research and reviews than any science publisher. Over 30 journals are published in association with prestigious academic societies.
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library is the World’s largest Classical music listening service designed for students, instructors and patrons of public and academic libraries, as well as players and executives of orchestras. Our collection of over 351,000 tracks of music is continually growing, not only from our own label but from other leading independent labels.
- New York Times [1851-2007]Full-text access to content from the New York Times.
- NewsbankNewsbank comprises the full text from 774 American newspapers and 26 news magazines, including the New York Times and the Washington Post.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers.
O
- OMNIFILE/MEGAOmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides a one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles
- Oxford English DictionaryThe standard for etymological dictionaries for the English language.
- Oxford Reference OnlineA collection of over 100 reference works covering most academic fields.
P
- PAISThe PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
- PapersFirst by FirstSearchAn index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
- Physical Review Onlne (American Physical Society)Abstracts of past issues of Physical Reviews
- Polling the NationPolling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from the United States and more than 100 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues.
- Proceedings by FirstSearchAn OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings
- Project MuseCurrently offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers most fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Bridgewater subscribes to the full text of the Basic Undergraduate Collection. Citation level access is available for all other journals.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)U.S. and select Canadian, British and European doctoral dissertations and masters theses in all subject areas. See Also Electronic Theses and Dissertations.
- PsycARTICLESThis is a collection of 44 journals published by the American Psychological Association and some other academic publishers. Coverage varies with the journal, but goes as far back as 1985.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionThis is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PsycINFOThe most comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
R
- Regional Business NewsThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
S
- Sage JournalsBrowse through SAGE titles to which we have subscriptions. Areas of study include: Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities. Important: to access the titles be sure to choose the “SAGE Journals Available to Me” option before browsing.
- ScienceDirect: Health & Life Sciences Journal CollectionA leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
- Spanish Reference Center
- SPIN WebThe SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides the most current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides access to over 1 million abstracts and is updated daily.
- SPORTDiscusThis is a comprehensive database in Sports and Exercise Science. It covers both scholarly and general interest publications
T
- Theatre in VideoTheatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
U
- Ulrichsweb & Serials Analysis SystemUlrichsWeb provides complete bibliographic information regarding periodicals published worldwide. It frequently gives pricing information, type of publication, and indicates if a publication is peer reviewed. Most of the basic content is available without a password, but the Serials Analysis section requires a password.
V
- Vente et GestionFormerly French Business Source, this provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.
- VIVA PBS VideosStreaming video access to the PBS video collection
W
- Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 11,500 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
- Women's Studies InternationalThis covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
- World News DigestBrings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print.
- WorldCat by FirstSearchOCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
Contact the Library
Main Circulation Desk:
Call us: 540-828-5413
Email us: circulation@bridgewater.edu
Have a Question?? Ask the Mack!
Call us: 540-828-5642
Email us: reference@bridgewater.edu
Text us: 540-318-1962

Loading...
