Introduction
Each year BC asks a campus wide Big Question to help spark conversation on a particular issue or topic. To help faciliate the conversation, and assit those of you interested in doing addition research for a paper or class, the library has created a list of relevent print and electronic resources.
This list is by no means comprehensive. If you need more help researching a topic, please contact one of the librarians. We'll be happy to help you!
Also, if you have any suggestions for resources to add to the list, please email Cori Strickler cstrickl@bridgewater.edu. The list will be updated throughout the school year.
Electronic Databases
Each of our library databases has a different collection of journal articles, newspaper articles, and other resources. Depending on your topic, one of the ones below should suit your need.
Remember: to access these resources from off campus, you will need to use our links for off-campus databases.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- African American Studies CenterThis online searchable database from Oxford University Press includes over 7500 articles from its authoritative reference program; it features primary source documents, biographies, images, maps, timelines, and important demographic charts and tables on the African American Experience.
- American History in VideoAmerican History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
- Humanities International CompleteThis database covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTORJSTOR is the online archives of scholarly journals in most fields.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full text access to international news sources, as well as information on businesses and legal cases
- OMNIFILE/MEGAOmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work
- Project MuseCurrently offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers most fields in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Bridgewater subscribes to the full text of the Basic Undergraduate Collection. Citation level access is available for all other journals.
- VIVA PBS VideosStreaming video access to the PBS video collection
- Women's Studies InternationalThis covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
What is the Big Question?
The Big Question for 2012-2013: What is Fair?
Print Resources
Articles for Thought
To access these articles from off campus you will need your college ID number.
- Justice Will be DoneAuthor: Hamzelou, Jessica
Source: New Scientist; 5/12/2012, Vol. 214 Issue 2864, p44-47
Database: Academic Search Complete - Justice Will be Done (off campus link)
- Fair Trade: Re-evaluate and Get Back on TrackAuthor: Haden-Pawlowski, Virgil
Source: Undercurrent; Fall/Winter2011, Vol. 8 Issue 2, p34-44
Database: Academic Search Complete - Fair Trade: Re-evaluate and Get Back on Track (off campus link)
- African Americans, Labor Unions, and the Struggle for Fair Employment in the Aircraft Manufacturing Industry of Texas, 1941-1945Authors: Abel, Joseph
Source: Journal of Southern History; Aug2011, Vol. 77 Issue 3, p595-638
Database: Academic Search Complete - African Americans, Labor Unions, and the Struggle for Fair Employment in the Aircraft Manufacturing Industry of Texas, 1941-1945 (off campus link)
- Fair Play: Its Origins and Meanings in Sport and SocietyAuthors: Renson, Roland
Source: Kinesiology; Jun2009, Vol. 41 Issue 1, p5-18
Database: Academic Search Complete - Fair Play: Its Origins and Meanings in Sport and Society (off campus link)
- Copenhagen 18/12: Africa Must Continue Calling for a Fair, Ambitious and Binding Climate Deal*Authors: Nhamo, Godwell
Source: African & Asian Studies; 2011, Vol. 10 Issue 2/3, p100-120
Database: Academic Search Complete - Copenhagen 18/12: Africa Must Continue Calling for a Fair, Ambitious and Binding Climate Deal (off campus link)
- Efforts to Fix Voting Flaws Fall Victim To PoliticsAuthor: Bronner, Ethan
Source: New York Times; 8/1/2012, p11
Database: Academic Search Complete - Efforts to Fix Voting Flaws Fall Victim To Politics (off-campus link)
- The Way Assisted Suicide Is Legalised: Balancing a Medical Framework against a Demedicalised ModelAuthor: Delbeke, Evelien
Source: European Journal of Health Law; Mar2011, Vol. 18 Issue 2, p149-162
Database: Academic Search Complete - The Way Assisted Suicide Is Legalised: Balancing a Medical Framework against a Demedicalised Model (off campus link)
Contact the Library
Main Circulation Desk:
Call us: 540-828-5413
Email us: circulation@bridgewater.edu
Have a Question?? Ask the Mack!
Call us: 540-828-5642
Email us: reference@bridgewater.edu
Text us: 540-318-1962
Cori's Profile

Cori Strickler
Information Literacy Librarian
Office Phone #: 540-828-5415
Email Address: cstrickl@bridgewater.edu
Subject Guides
Use these guides to help you find resources specific to your subject.
Web Resources
The library has organized a Delicious webpage to help you find reliable web resources. Below is just a sample of resources that are related to the Big Question.
Loading...

Loading...
